Tanya Boutté and Friends - “You ‘Ve Gotta Love Lil”

Lillian Boutté, the Queen of Ascona, is facing the devastiting disease of Alzheimer’s and needs our help. Here are a band and album to help raise funds for her medical supplies and care

Dates: 27.6 –1.7  2017
SOLIDARITY CD 
GOSPEL CONCERT with FOUNDRAISING: June 29 @ Chiesa Papio

Official Ambassador of New Orleans music in the world since 1986, and undisputed Queen of JazzAscona since its first edition, vocalist Lillian Boutté (67 years old) is facing the devastating disease of Alzheimer’s. Last year, together with her Music Friends, she moved the Ascona audience with touching concerts. Only a few had realized that it had been a moving farewell to her musical career, Lillian’s goodbye to her beloved audience and way of thanking everyone for the love and support of New Orleans music.

Lillian’s health, however, declined quickly and back in New Orleans she is now surrounded by the love of her family. She is in need of around the clock care and of special support.  Like many artists, the vocalist unfortunately does not have medical care and is faced with expenses that are not covered by insurance.

For this reason our JazzAscona director, Nicolas Gilliet, a friend to Lillian, has launched the project “YOU’VE GOTTA LOVE LIL!” that includes a European summer tour with musicians close to the New Orleans artists. Among them, her niece Tanya Boutté and her ex-husband Thomas L’Etienne. It will also include the recording and sale of of an album (a wonderful recording from 2007 that Lillian had never published), which will help raise the necessary funds to help the artist. 

From: New Orleans, EU

Style: R&B, Jazz
 

Tanya Bouttè, vocals

Thomas L’Etienne, tenor sax & clarinet

Uli Wunner, clarinet
Denny Ilett, guitar

Andy Crowdy, bass

Julie Saury, drums

Tanya Boutté and Friends - “You ‘Ve Gotta Love Lil”

Lillian Boutté, die Königin von Ascona, ist an Alzheimer erkrankt und braucht unsere Hilfe. Eine Band und eine CD sollen Geld für ihre Pflege einbringen

Dates: 27.6 –1.7  2017
SOLIDARITY CD 
GOSPEL CONCERT with FOUNDRAISING: June 29 @ Chiesa Papio

Seit 1986 ist sie offizielle Botschafterin für die Musik von New Orleans in der Welt und seit der ersten Auflage des Festivals in Ascona dessen unbestrittene Königin: die Sängerin Lillian Boutté (67). Seit einiger Zeit leidet sie an Alzheimer. Noch am letztjährigen Festival gab sie, unterstützt durch ihre Musicfriends, einige ergreifende Konzerte. Viele haben es nicht bemerkt, aber es war ein berührender Abschied von der Bühne, ein letzter Gruss an ihr geliebtes Publikum, ein Dank für die grosse Zuneigung, die sie all die Jahre erfahren durfte und ein Dank für die Unterstützung, die wir in Ascona der Musik aus New Orleans stets gegeben haben.

Alzheimer ist eine degenerative, unerbittliche Krankheit, und der Zustand von Lillian hat sich leider rapide verschlechtert. Nach langen Jahren in Europa ist sie nach New Orleans zurückgekehrt, um im Kreise der Familie umsorgt zu werden. Sie muss heute rund um die Uhr betreut werden und benötigt spezielle Pflege. Leider hat sie, wie viele Musiker, keine Krankenkasse. Viele medizinische Leistungen werden von keiner Versicherung übernommen und sie sieht sich mit einem Haufen ungedeckter Spesen konfrontiert.

Aus diesem Grund hat Nicolas Gilliet, Direktor von JazzAscona und persönlicher Freund der Sängerin, das Projekt “YOU’VE GOTTA LOVE LIL!" ins Leben gerufen. Es gliedert sich in zwei Teile: einerseits eine Sommertournee durch Europa, mit Musikern, die ihr nahe stehen, allen voran ihre Nichte Tanya Boutté und ihr Ex-Ehemann Thomas L’Etienne, und anderseits die Produktion einer CD mit wunderbaren Aufnahmen, die Lillian 2007 gemacht, aber nie veröffentlicht hat. Der ganze Erlös aus diesen beiden Aktionen wird zur Unterstützung der Künstlerin verwendet. 

From: New Orleans, EU

Style: R&B, Jazz
 

Tanya Bouttè, vocals

Thomas L’Etienne, tenor sax & clarinet

Uli Wunner, clarinet
Denny Ilett, guitar

Andy Crowdy, bass

Julie Saury, drums